School Nursing

The goal of EASD school health services is to secure and promote health, wellness and safety, so that all may achieve their optimal potential. These health services include: 

  • Health Screenings (Growth, Vision, Hearing)
  • Health Assessments for Acute and Chronic Health Concerns
  • First Aid
  • Medication Administration
  • Skilled Nursing Case Management for Students with Medical Needs
  • Coordination of Physical and Dental Exams
  • Enforcement of Pennsylvania Department of Health Codes and Immunization Compliance
  • Health Teaching
  • Counseling and Support
  • Referral to Community Resources
  • Participation in EASD Health and Safety Committees
  • Leadership in EASD Wellness Initiatives

 

Read Colleague Corner to learn more about school nursing at EASD. 

 

Visit PA Dept. of Health, School Section 

 

School Nursing Team Members

 Building  Certified School Nurse  eMail
 Cheston  Kathleen Biggs  biggsk@eastonsd.org
 Forks  Diane Azzolina  azzolinad@eastonsd.org
 March  Lauren Wieder  wiederl@eastonsd.org
 Palmer    Lisa Lutes-Virgilio  lutel@eastonsd.org
 Paxinosa  Kim Febbo  febbok@eastonsd.org
 Shawnee  Irene Panto  pantoi@eastonsd.org
 Tracy  Jo-Ann Velas  velasj@eastonsd.org
 EAA  Jo-Ann Velas  velasj@eastonsd.org
 EAMS 5/6  Cindy Matyus  matyusc@eastonsd.org
 EAMS 7/8  Donna Evans  evansd@eastonsd.org
 EAHS 9/10  Judith Keretz  keretzj@eastonsd.org
 EAHS 11/12  Sally Ann Pavlik  pavliks@eastonsd.org
 District K-12  Deirdre Darragh  darraghd@eastonsd.org

Nursing Team Assistants

 Building  Nurse Assistant  eMail
 Palmer/Pax  Annette Gearinger  gearingera@eastonsd.org
 Tracy/EAA  Marianne Rush, RN  rushm@eastonsd.org
 EAMS 5/6  Kim Helfrich, RN helfrichk@eastonsd.org
 EAMS 7/8  Helen Border  borderh@eastonsd.org
 EAHS  Barbara Gardiner, RN  gardinerb@eastonsd.org
 District  Michelle Fehnel, RN  fehnelm@eastonsd.org